Pixel Vision OS’s Workspace Explorer offers the ability to rename, move, and copy files. All of these file actions are available from the drop-down menu.
These file actions are contextual and are only enabled when they can be used. To rename, copy, delete a file or folder, you’ll need to select it first.
For example, you can rename a file once selected from the drop-down. You’ll see it has been enabled on files you can rename.
When you rename a file, you will be presented with an input field allowing you to provide a new file name.
It’s important to note that you can’t change the extension of a file. So renaming a file will still retain its PV8 file type. You can manually change the file extension on your computer file system outside of Pixel Vision OS.
You can copy and move files and folders as well between folders and disks. To make a copy, select the file or folder and select copy from the drop-down menu or press
Ctrl + c for the keyboard shortcut.
One a file or folder has been copied into memory, you can paste it into a different folder by selecting paste from the drop-down menu or by pressing
Ctrl + p.
Before a file is copied, you will be asked to confirm the action.
If there is a file with a similar name, you will be asked to create a duplicate of the file and the new copy will be renamed with a number to avoid any conflicts.
You will see the same warning if you copy and paste a file in the same folder. This will allow you to make a duplicate copy.
You can move files between directories by dragging them to the desired location. To go up a directory, simply drag the file or folder to the parent folder icon.
Sometimes it’s easier to just copy and paste the file to a new directory and delete the original. You can always move a file or folder to the root of the Workspace drive by dragging it onto the Workspace icon. You can also drag any file or folder to a disk.
Moving a file or folder over to a disk will change the file action to copy. You can only move files on the same drive or disk path. When performing a move between volumes, you’ll be presented with the copy confirmation action.